Minimalism by Tory

Socrates once said, “The secret of happiness, you see, is not found in seeking more, but in developing the capacity to enjoy less.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Typically, my motto in life is “more is more”. As my previous posts have demonstrated, I am usually the queen of excess when it comes to fashion and style (ie: “Stack Em’ by Tory”). Lately, however, I’ve been falling in love with minimalism in both fashion and interior design and have been adopting the philosophy that less clutter leads to a clearer mind. As far as fashion statements go, there’s something to be said for pieces that are simple but can make a loud statement simultaneously.

In my opinion, no one does minimalism better than Austrian designer Helmut Lang, who headed his own fashion label until 2005. After Lang left the label, new owners carried on the minimalistic vibe and the designs are sold at high-end department stores and boutiques. Above: Helmut Lang Pre-Fall 11, Below: Helmut Lang Fall 2000.

As of lately I’m making serious attempts to simplify my life- and my personal style is no exception. Most days I’ve been sticking to draped harem trousers with simple black boots and blouses. I recommend giving this minimalistic style a try- It may clear your mind while making you look incredibly chic.

Leave a comment